Sunday Session – Groovy gals (and guy) edition

Video

I’ve loved linking up regularly with Thea’s Sunday sessions. As my sister said during our Skype chat last night,” Music is a big part of you Alice!” Joining in with this link up is a part of  what I’ve communicated in my poem “Just Ask…“. THANK YOU THEA!

Both pieces of music today make up a big part of my musical history.

Hiromi Uehara & Chick Corea

This would have to be one of my favourite jazz tunes. I was introduced to the music of Chick Corea by a percussion teacher in high school. During my first year at uni I was introduced to this tune, and I catch myself singing the melody fairly regularly. I love the rhythm and energy that it has. I love how Hiromi and Chick communicate how much fun it is to play in a group situation, which musos refer to as “an ensemble” or “chamber music” situation. In this case, obviously, they’re playing together as a duo. Such energy and sensitivity in this performance.

Claire Edwardes

The final piece for this week is performed by the amazing Australian percussionist Claire Edwardes at a prestigious music festival in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. I played some pieces like this while I studied percussion, and watching this has brought back many memories. Anyway, Claire is someone who has performed and done wonderful things for percussion music, and contemporary chamber music all over the world. Check out her website (by clicking on her name above) to find out more about her.

Want to share some tunes that are significant to you? Feel free to link up with us over at Thea’s blog.

One response »

  1. YOU ARE SO WELCOME! :)

    WOW…that first tune makes me wish I’d studied the piano further…amazing!!
    And percussion is so much fun. I’m sad that I’ve never heard of that awesome Aussie percussionist before!

    You always bring some magic to the Sunday Sessions.
    Thank you so much for linking!

Leave a Reply

