Sunday Session – Jeff Buckley

Video

Last week I dug out a cd that I hadn’t heard for a while. WH and I were introduced to Jamie Cullum when my sister gave us a cd of his many years ago. On the cd he did a cover version of another favourite artist of mine. I really like this live, jazz version of Jeff Buckley’s song…

Second song for this week is the man himself, Jeff Buckley. I’ve been fascinated by his voice since the very first time I heard this particular song on Triple J many years ago. The night that he played a concert in Perth I remember thinking ” I’ll definitely have to catch him the next time he’s in town! ” Unfortunately that opportunity never came. So sad that he passed away at such a young age. With his insightful lyrics, versatile voice,  unusual chords and guitar riffs, and the amazing grooves set by the drummer, I’d have to say that Jeff Buckley is one of my all-time favourite artists.

Want to share some tunes that are significant to you? Feel free to link up with us over at Thea’s blog.

2 responses »

  1. Again, your wonderful posts make me a bit teary, but bring a smile too.
    Im a big fan of both Jeff & Jamie – both amazing artists.
    I was one of the lucky ones that got to see Jeff Buckley live in Perth – yet still can’t believe that I will never get the opportunity to see him again. Such talent, and gone far too soon.

Leave a Reply

