I should…but You did

Standard

Alice you should really…

or

Alice, you should have…

These combinations of words have been at the beginning of many, many tasks in recent months, and I need to do something about it.

A couple of years back, when I was really into list-making (something I should return to methinks…whoops THERE I GO AGAIN) my husband suggested listing all that I wanted to achieve that day, and include two things that I could already cross off.

That worked a treat for a very long time, and I guess I’ve lost my groove with all that stuff.

Perhaps if I replaced those words with “Alice, you did…” or “Alice, you’ve done…” I’d be in a better head space.

It makes me think of all my ¬†human efforts to attain perfection in numerous pursuits. There are so many rules…

YOU MUST do this so that…

YOU SHOULD do this because…

By placing His one and only Son on the cross, God’s response is “I DID IT FOR YOU,” and “I HAVE DONE IT FOR YOU.” All that God wants is a relationship with me.¬† Despite what many might say, there are no other boxes that need to be ticked…HE’S ALREADY DONE IT FOR ME!

Linking up with Jess for

One response »

Leave a Reply

