Something that made me smile

Standard

Recently I had  my very first “Monopoly Test” with my cricket mad 8-year-old son. Actually, it was his first Monopoly test as well. It lasted two days, and there were a few modifications to the rules, but we had a great time.

It was fun observing X’s approach to the game. He wasn’t worried or concerned  at being down to his last $5. (I worried for him.)  He took big risks, buying multiples of houses and hotels in a single turn, and had to mortgage out a few of his properties. At this point I was thinking, “Gosh, I hope that he never becomes a financial planner!”

So, who do you think won after our two- day epic (including breaks for meals and riding around the block when the weather was fine)?

My son.

When he saw that I was starting to go under he was happy to issue me with money to keep me alive in the game. I was touched by his decision to help me out, and when I asked him what he liked about the game he replied,” I just loved playing it with you Mama.”

9 responses »

  1. What a gorgeous story! You know, a similar thing yesterday happened here; I asked my 3 yr old son what was the best thing about going to the beach and he said the names of his 2 cousins. Beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

