The Tyranny of Distance

Standard

I thought I’d join in with Write on Wednesday again this week. Yes I know it’s Friday, but as I’ve mentioned before Gill over at inkpaperpen has been very generous with the deadline 🙂 Anyway, here’s this week’s task…

Log onto your Facebook/Twitter page and write down the first status update you see.  Set a timer for 5 minutes. Write the first words that come into your head after your prompt.

6 Days in Oz. There and back to see how far away it is.

The joy of seeing friends and family. The pain of travelling so far for so little time. Memories come flooding back of time with those I love. If only Australia wasn’t so far away. This island that is full of beauty and wonder, but seems to treasure it’s sports icons more than it’s artists. Until a shift happens, arty creatures like me will be staying permanently in other parts of the world in their droves. The tyranny of distance. What to do when serious issues crop up with the ones I really love that I’ve left behind? For now I’m happy to jet-set around, playing where I am asked to play. Music from long so ago doesn’t really appeal to that many people here on this island. Too much sun and waves to enjoy things inside. Great for those with little ones. I wonder when I’ll be back again. Hope that I’ll be able to stay for longer next time. The pace of life is slower, at least in my home city, but the closeness of so many different cultures also beckons me.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for playing along, Al. Is this based on real life or is it imagination? I think you captured Australia in this piece of writing even given the time limit. Well Done!

    Gill x

Leave a Reply

