Sunday Session – My Dad and Spring

Video

Thanks to Thea for hosting another Sunday session. With my last session being dedicated to my hubby, I thought I’d make the Father’s Day part (mainly) about my Dad.

First up a beautiful song that communicates how blessed I am to have such a wonderful father here on Earth (can’t wait to see you at Christmas Dad!), that my kids are blessed to have such a fantastic father in Wonderful Husband (WH), and that I have an amazing Heavenly Father as well. It’s the hope and prayer of hubby and I that our kids will experience this for themselves some day.

Father’s Love

I remember my Dad playing this song a lot on record…record you say. What is that? While searching for this I found out that there’s also a German version of the song…wunderbar!

Tina Rainford – Silverbird

This song is a traditional song from the region in Indonesia where my dad comes from, Minahasa in North Sulawesi. I have visited once, and hope to return with my own family some day. It would be great for them to meet the extended family. With my paternal grandmother being one of eight, and my paternal grandfather coming from a slightly larger family there is no end of relatives to catch up with!!

The xylophone-type instruments played in the video are called “kolintang”. I have many great memories of watching my Dad playing guitar, and both parents singing along at Indonesian gatherings, after my mum had cooked up a storm. Food and music make for good times don’t they?

Esa Mokan – Traditional song from Manado, North Sulawesi
(Translation from regional dialect, with many thanks to Audry)
You are the only one in my mind
Let there be no other
Keep believing in God
And we all will live long and happily
Keep believing in God
And we all will live long and happily

Finally a song for this time of year, a beautiful jazz waltz written by trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, which I first came across at uni.

Up Jumped Spring

Which tunes have sprung your ears wide open lately?

Leave a Reply

